Touching Quote from Bleak House

“A goodly sight it is to see the grand old housekeeper (harder of hearing now) going to church on the arm of her son”  Bleak House

I just loved this quote when I first read it.  The background for it is that the son had been long-lost, having gone off and joined the army.  He  avoided going back home for nearly 20 years, thinking he was a disappointment to his family.   After being reunited with his mother late in the book in  quite a touching moment, he goes back to Chesney Wold to serve the Dedlock family.

But, the other reason this quote touched me is that I happened to read it just after Christmas.    Christmas Eve and Christmas Day services we were blessed to have 5 of the kids with us at church.   It is a rare occurrence now and will only get rarer as the years move forward.   It was a “goodly sight” in this mama’s eyes to have her babies all dressed up in their Christmas finery and to sit with my boys in church (one dd stands far away from the incense because of asthma and the other is in the choir loft).

I’m sure if I had read that part when I was younger it wouldn’t have popped out at me.  Funny how time and experience change our reading experience.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tess
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 23:11:08

    My children are all still at home but this past Christmas eve and day I was teary eyed at the children who had come home for Christmas. It was beautiful to Fr and Mat. children home for the holidays and to see the far away college students back. Getting teary-eyed thinking about it again! I’m going to have to add Bleak House to my To Be read shelf on Good Reads.


  2. Michelle M.
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 15:37:05

    That is a beautiful quote. It makes me think of a drawing my daughter did at school last week. It was the 100th day of school, and the children were instructed to draw a picture of themselves at 100 years old and write a sentence about what they would do. She said she would go to church! It made my heart melt.


  3. wayside wanderer
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 12:05:15

    What you said really resonates with me. The quote paints such a tender mental picture.


  4. Mimi
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 16:23:06

    Ohhh, that is beautiful indeed.
    There was an older woman in our parish (may her Memory be Eternal) whose son would bring her to church. I kept asking my youngest if he’d bring me to church like that when I was old and grey, and he told me that he wasn’t planning on living nearby.
    I pray that he does and takes me.


  5. cassiolalola (@cassiolalola)
    Feb 07, 2013 @ 17:32:28

    I like that. I haven’t read bleak house, or much of anything dickens since highschool. you make me want to explore him a little more..


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

