December saw a flurry of loom activity.   It was fun to get in the groove of weaving again after taking nearly the year off.    I also bought a new-to-me loom and had a lot of fun weaving with it.  It’s a 22″ floor loom and I just love how easy it is to work.

I made three scarves on this loom:


I’m sorry this one is particularly blurry. I’m finding it very hard to capture the color in my scarves when taking a picture.  None of them are as shiny as they come out in the photos.

The first two were  made with sock yarn as the warp and then a textured yarn for the weft. The first is a boucle in a variegated color. The purple is was done in a very lovely wool blend called Angel Hair.

They were super quick and easy to weave up. If I hadn’t been sick during the middle of  it all,  it probably would have taken me 1.5 days to weave.  The last one was an simple scarf I made my for youngest.  This was the only photo I found of it.


These fingerless gloves I made on my Table Loom.

It was my first project in DoubleWeave.   Doubleweave is where you make an upper and lower cloth together.  It means you can either weave double the size of your loom or make a tube (gloves!).  I’ve been a bit hesitant to start this method because most projects are for blankets. That’s a lot of yarn and time invested on something that I may or may not  figure out. Doing this small project made it quite doable for a new weaver. I’ll definitely be making more of these.

I’ve actually decided I don’t really like the Table loom.  I like treadling with my feet more than my hands.  Fortunately, I bought it used and will just sell it again for about the same price.

Finally on my 36″ floor loom I made another scarf mixing wool and mohair.  The warp was done in brown and the weft is a light variegated pink

And this one I did with merino wool in a beautiful emerald green/brown variegation.  Its part of the left-over weft from the previous project and I’m still weaving away at it.

I’ve already had two daughters decide that I’m making this for them.  We’ll see.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 12:29:04

    Really pretty!!!


  2. Mimi
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 18:50:56

    I wish I were one of your daughters :) those are great!


  3. Michelle M.
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 23:10:29

    Those are fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

