Currently Reading:

Moby Dick – still slogging through.  I do like it but the style gets tedious for me after a while.  Fortunately the chapters are short, so I feel like I’m making lots of progress every time I sit down to read it.

Caves of Steel by Asimov. Quite a good sci-fi detective novel.  It’s a stand alone book within the I,Robot series.   I read that this book was written because someone told Asimov that Sci-Fi and Dectective genres could not go together.  He took the challenge and this is the result.  I’m actually listening to this one and I’m almost done.  It’s quite good.  One thing that stands out is that it was written in the 50’s.  It’s kind of funny to think of women in the distant future putting on their hats to go out and grabbing their hankies when they cry.  Also, there’s very little to no cursing.  Quite enjoyable.

Currently Watching:

Longmire – Very enjoyable new summer series on A&E based on a book series.  The setting is Wyoming and Sheriff Longmire is a cop with a heart.  We’ve enjoyed almost all of these.  All the main characters are well done and the backdrop is gorgeous.

New Tricks –  A fun light British mystery series.   Scotland Yard has brought 3 cops out of retirement to help with a new division for cold-case files.  Each of them has some ghosts from the past and brings to the table their own quirkiness.  Headed up by CID Sandra Pullman who is no-nonsense cop herself.  She tries to keep them in line and out of trouble.  We started out watching these on Netflix last year but have discovered that our local PBS station runs them on Saturday afternoons too.

Currently Weaving…

After a very long hiatus with a towel project sitting on my loom for nearly 6 weeks my husband and son brought my loom upstairs.  I’m now shuttling away as time permits during the day.  It’s really nice to have my loom upstairs even if it doesn’t quite fit properly.  We’ll make it work though.

Currently Thinking….

No surprise that I’ve been on a bit of a blogging slump lately.  What to do when you have nothing to say?  Just keep quiet I think.   I’m not  sure what the future will hold.  I don’t want to shut the old girl down, but I also don’t want to feel pressurized to say something when I’m not particularly inspired.  Perhaps this fall will bring a new enthusiasm.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marfa
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 07:55:16

    I’ve never read Moby Dick (but the girls were watching Matilda yesterday, and the little girl is reading that book, which made me think it’s a classic, I SHOULD read it too)!
    And I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by the well-know Isaac Asimov. ♥ I haven’t blogged in a while, for reasons of being too busy and not really having anything to share. Mostly, I spend my days at the pool, while my girls have swim team practice!


  2. Trackback: Wednesday Highlights | Pseudo-Polymath
  3. Trackback: Stones Cry Out - If they keep silent… » Things Heard: e229v3
  4. Mimi
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 13:22:39

    I read Moby Dick in high school, and hated it. However, since then, I read “Ahab’s Wife” and loved it, which made me wonder if I should try to re-read it.
    Love to you, always lovely to see your blog :)


  5. Sarah in Indiana
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 23:54:55

    I admit, I didn’t really like Moby Dick. I do like Asimov, though, and haven’t read any of his in years. I can’t recall if I’ve read Caves of Steel or not.


  6. Elizabeth @ The Garden Window
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 04:04:03

    I\’ve read very little Asimov. It seems there are many of us in the same boat !
    I hadn\’t heard of Longmire; I shall certainly keep my eyes open for it over here.

    I\’m in total agreement with Sarah; I use Google reader and it is a joy to see new posts from dear friends


  7. jamesthethickheaded
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 08:47:07

    The Robot series was good. I think I liked the Foundation Trilogy better. But it’s been some time since I’ve read any Asimov. He used to edit a monthly pub of short stories of which I was a fan. Afraid old Bartleby the Scrivener was the end of my dislike affair with Melville… or you might say the full stop. Ran into that puppy over and over and over and over… somebody liked it… but so I came to agree with the the character: “When it comes to Melville… I’d prefer not to.”

    Hankies aside, I like the comment about language. Put down an Elmore Leonard book the other day (and he’s a very good writer FWIW) for just the opposite… I wasn’t ready for another foul mouthed detective book… especially one with a drug addict loser named “Skip”. Wonder why that might be… dunno. I’ll pick it up again I’m sure later… but for now I’m reading: “Independence: The Struggle to Set America Free” and it reminds me of a church I know…. strange, huh?

    I think the spark has gone out of OrthoBlogdome and is a bit tired. I even read other blogs with a delay… note here I am checking in a month late.


  8. Grace
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 19:05:14

    James, I think I’ve got you beat for the lateness of the commenting. :-) I think a lot of bloggers have lost the head of steam they once had. I still like visiting around, but I’m never surprised when someone has put the light out.

    I read Moby Dick, more I think out of a sense of obligation than anything else. It’s a great novel and you’re supposed to read it. Like you, Deb, I was very grateful for the short chapters. And, inversely from James above, the *only* Melville I’ve ever liked is Bartleby the Scrivener, which is completely unlike any of Melville’s nautical writings. I would grant James that Bartleby may seem like an insufferable passive-aggressive type, but I just thought the whole story had layered meanings to it that I never found in Moby Dick. I felt like Melville might have captured something about the shrinking world of ‘civilized men.’ Or something.

    Anyway, Deb, hope you catch a second wind.


    • jamesthethickheaded
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 22:52:23

      Grace…. not to be outdone or anything… I checked back. Okay… so you LIKED Bartelby… hmmmmm. Probably means my adolescent reaction was… er… adolescent and might not match my adult view? WHEN in your scheme of things did you read it and like it? Just puzzled. “Depths of meaning”… well…. it’s been a long, long, long time… and I’m not even John Lennon singing on the White Album.


  9. Grace
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 23:58:10

    LOL. Well, maybe that’s worth breaking out into a blog post sometime soon. I think I’d go way too long if I tried to get into it now. Of course, I’ll probably be jabbering on much too long about it on my blog as well, but then, my blog is used to it and doesn’t complain much. :-)


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

