While the world watches

As the West congratulates itself on Kosovo’s Independence, Orthodox Christians are humbly asking for your prayers.

Here’s a compilation around the web:

Asking for your Humble Prayers.

Lord Have Mercy – this video has been around for a while – I first saw it at the Holy Archangel’s Monastery in Serbia. Here you can read about the martyrdom of one of their monks).

Get Religion’s Take along with the same heart-wrenching video

Kosovo to Secede from Serbia.

I Do Not Recognize any Kosovo/Metohija independent of Serbia.

*thanks to TheCresCat for compiling some of these too.

**photo credit: Holy Archangel’s Monastery

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steve
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 21:30:37

    Wow. I am overcome with the power of such hatred – in the video, in the ravings of the man from Albania, in the news from Kosovo. This is another of those occasions when all I can think to do is put my small hand up into the hand of our Father and ask for his protection for all His children. And for the healing of hearts so hardened that they can hate, and kill, and destroy.


  2. Acceptance-with-Joy
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 22:57:16

    Come Lord Jesus, Come!

    I cannot tell you how often I am left stunned by my countries foreign policies. But, perhaps I am part of the reason. Until recently, foreign policy was not even on my radar screen when selecting a candidate… but then I fell in love with a country and began to adopt its abandoned children.

    I have been forced to ask (and I still have not answered) why men and women who have been systematically repressed by corrupt governments for years and who fight for liberty and freedom are called terrorists and “policed” by UN Forces… our ancestors are called Revolutionaries and are considered heroes.

    May the church be gathered together in the safe and loving arms of the Father.


  3. Randi
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 10:31:32

    Hi Deb,

    I really didn’t know much about this until recently, and only because of my friend’s daughter. I thought you might be interested to know that Courtney (I posted a prayer request for her the other day) is living at a university in Serbia and her and her group are seeking to share God with the students there. As of recently they have had to find a bigger building to use for their studies because so many people are interested. There are some good things going on over there!


  4. Michelle
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 12:04:13

    Hi Debbi,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and for welcoming me to the blog-o-sphere! Scary world out there! You’re blog is interesting. :-) Michelle


  5. Rebeca
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 22:57:08

    I hadn’t even heard about this- we don’t have a TV and I’m woefully out of it when it comes to current events. I’m praying though!
    Thanks for the idea of make-ahead quiche too- I may have to mix up some of that!


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

